

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

11.00am, Monday 25 November 2019 DISABLED MOTORISTS' ASSOCIATION 2A STATION ST COBURG

MINUTES

The meeting opened at 11.10am

1. WELCOME and acknowledgement of country

I would like to acknowledge the Wurundjeri people, the Traditional Owners of the land on which we are meeting and pay my respects to their Elders both past, present and emerging

APOLOGIES:

Rangan Srinivasan, Joan Smith, Gaylene Jones, Lyn Bates, Maree Jonkryg, Robin Aulman, Brian McNico, Rosetta Cecchin, Angela Brusseze, Jill Burn.

PRESENT:

Liz Telford, Ron Exiner, Judith Bell, Ron Bell, Ruben Rubens, Tina Hosking, Geoff Dean, Aruna Prasad, Barbary Clarke, Nanette Morel, K. Kirwin, Noel Will, Jill Pickering, Peter Freckleton, Lan Huynh, Peter Willcocks, Natasha Layton, Steph Cantrill, Prof Keith McVilly, Petra Quinlan-Turner, Leonardo Faustino, Susan Shaab, Nimo Hersi, Shirley Glance OAM, Bruce Levitt and Robyn Abrahams.

2. MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS AGM HELD ON MONDAY NOVEMBER 25TH, 2019

Motion: That the minutes of the AGM held on Monday November 25

November be accepted

Moved: Geoff Dean Seconded: Jill Pickering

3. PRESIDENT'S REPORT

Good afternoon ladies and gentlemen, and a warm welcome to our AGM. I would like to thank you all for your attendance, as your presence is very much appreciated. Attending our AGM today is a special friend of PPV, Mary-ann Liethof. Mary-ann over the the years has helped and supported us in countless ways, that support has been very much appreciated. This year we have seen some outstanding results. And that's thanks to the committee for your efforts. I would like to make ea verey special thanks to our past President Geoff Dean, who was also a founding member of PPV. On behalf of the committee I would like thank you and recognise your effort and your contribution over the years to PPV. I also wish to make a special thanks to my secretary Shirley Glance for the support she has given me throughout the year, and Susan Shaab for a great newsletter and helping me. The strength of our small committee always continues to impress me. I wish to thank Ruben and Steph for their continued contribution and support through-out the year.

Unfortunately, we have received Liz Telford's resignation, and she will be sadly missed. Liz was one of the founders of PPV. From the start Liz has always been a very valued member. Liz has represented PPV many times advocating for Post Polio survivors.

Today and every PPV meeting we remember our committee member and friend Dr Margaret Cooper, who will always be sadly missed. We thank her for her tireless work and contribution to PPV, and all disability.

Special thanks to our regular financial donors that contribute monthly. Special thanks to Ron Exiner for his valued contribution too PPV over many years and facilitating quarterly meetings with PSV. Our achievements over the past year are too many for me to print, but the committee's involvement in advocating for PPV has been very well documented in the newsletter.

Finally, I would like to make mention the departure of the PNV committee from Independence Australia. We invited them to consider perhaps joining with us. Everything appeared to be progressing well until we received an email informing us without really explaining why the change of mind, that they were going it alone.

I would encourage members to download or find a copy oof the newsletter to read, it is always full of good information. I would really encourage anyone to become a committee member and bring your new ideas with you for the future of PPV.

Motion: That the President's report be accepted

Moved: Peter Freckleton **Seconded:** Barbary Clarke

4. TREASURER'S REPORT

Tilly Srinivasan was unable to attend Shirley Glance OAM presented the report.

Motion: That the Treasurer's report be accepted

Moved: Shirley Glance OAM Seconded: Barbary Clarke

5. Acknowledgements:

Geoff Dean – in recognition of his eight years as President of PPV Liz Telford - in appreciation of her dedication & commitment to PPV and the Polio Community

Ron Exiner – In appreciation of his many years as secretary, committee member and wonderful support of Post Polio Victoria Inc.

Tilly Srinivasan – in appreciation of her role as treasurer

6. Maryann Liethof -Polio Australia who is retiring

Maryann was appointed as Polio Australia's National Program Manager in early January 2010 and she has worked tirelessly to ensure Polio Australia's functionality and success ever since. *Unfortunately, Maryann was unable to attend.*

7. ELECTION OF NEW COMMITTEE

Ron Exiner conducted the election of the incoming committee

No votes were required

Positions filled were:

President

Shirley Glance OAM

• Vice President

Susan Shaab

Secretary

Nimo Hersi * from June 2020

• Treasurer

Lan Huynh

• Ordinary Committee Members

Geoff Dean
Susan Shaab
Robyn Abraham
Peter Freckleton
Nanette Morel
Anne Wright * from March 2020
T. Hocking * till January 2020

8. CLOSE

The meeting closed at 11.55am

The formal AGM was followed by a presentation by Prof Keith McVilly PhD MAPS MCCIP, Professor of Disability & Inclusion – University of Melbourne. He spoke on the topic 'Have people with a disability been included in today's society?